Producing in India

I am considering moving my production from new york city to India. I am looking for advice regarding what to look for, common pittfalls and the cost benefit of producing overseas. Is it better to sample the line in nyc or develop it at the factory? What are common lead times? Minimums? etc.... Thank You.

You need to be a member of Fashion Industry Network to add comments!

Join Fashion Industry Network

Email me when people reply –

Replies

• Hello there,

I am a fashion Consultant in US n my family in India cater to both national and international clients.

If you can provide more info ...i can help.

Thanks
  • Hello,
    I would be glad to assist you if you plan to manufacture in INDIA
  • As an American, I would obviously prefer that you keep production in the USA. However, as a business person, it may make good sense for you to move production to India, China, etc. The reality is that producing in Asia is less costly then producing in the USA.

When making a decision, many factors need to be considered.

If you are selling rather small quantities and working on good margin, you may be better off staying local. Even though you can get very good quality in other countries, it is always best to keep a "close" eye on production. If you are working locally, you can at least stop into the factory to check on the progress etc. If moving does not generate a large savings, why bother moving?

If you quantities are large and margin is tight, saving the pennies are important. Even after calculating duty, freight, inspections services, etc., you are most likely going to have a cost savings when producing outside the USA. However, your negotiating skills will ultimately tell the tale of how much you will save...

In my opinion, EVERY COUNTRY has great factories and EVERY COUNTRY has horrible factories. The tricky part of this business is finding the proper factory.